First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

April 24, 2019

Ms. Mary Poole, State Director South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs 3400 Harden Street Extension Columbia, South Carolina 29203

Dear Director Poole:

On behalf of the Legislative Oversight Committee, thank you, and your staff for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process. During the October 23, 2018, meeting, the Committee approved the following recommendation that "[t]he State Director should report to the Committee in six months regarding changes implemented as a result of the Legislative Oversight process and the agency's internal improvement processes." For your reference, the recommendations are included in the study report, finalized on November 2, 2018, and located at https://www.scstatehouse.gov/Committee%20Study_DDSN-0001.PDF.

Please provide an update on the agency's implementation of recommendations by May 16, 2019. If additional time is needed to respond, please contact Committee staff. Thank you for your service to the youth of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Win Wester / Mantos

Wm. Weston J. Newton Committee Chair